Very small number of UK Higher Education Universities have been selected to take part in UK Home Office’s new Tier 4 pilot scheme. With this Tier 4 pilot scheme selected UK Universities will help Home Office to simplify the visa applications process for one-year Master’s students.


Who is eligible for Tier 4 Pilot scheme?

  • Students applying to study a Masters course for 13 months or less (excluding the duration of any pre-sessional course) at any of the approved universities (listed below)
  • All students applying from both outside and inside the UK
  • Dependants who are making a Tier 4 dependant visa application at the same time as an eligible main applicant.


What are the benefits of Tier 4 Pilot Scheme?

  • You will be granted an additional 6 months visa on top of your course duration to help you find employment opportunities in the UK once you complete your course.
  • You can submit fewer documents with your application. According to you Home Office news “you will not be required to submit certificates or documents showing your previous qualifications or transcript of results and documents showing you meet the maintenance requirements.”


List of UK universities included in Tier 4 pilot:

  • Cardiff University
  • Goldsmiths University of London
  • Harper Adams University
  • Newcastle University
  • Queen’s University Belfast
  • The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
  • University of Bristol
  • Durham University
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Essex
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Reading
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Southampton
  • University of Wales Trinity St. David (Swansea Campus)
  • University of Warwick
  • University of York

For detailed information or requirements, speak to your university visa office.


Published date: 25th December 2017